Newbie help with 4th axis gear cutting

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
esawyja
Old Timer

Newbie help with 4th axis gear cutting

Post by esawyja »

Hi all,
I'm really new at CNC and gears, so please be kind! I used Gearotic to generate a wheel, 32P, 124T, now translating that to metric, I get the module as 0.793 something, the wheel diameter works out to be just over 100mm, if I set the Use Involute Cutter in the Output Manager and tick 4th axis GCode with a 1mm end mill, I get a cut that makes sense to me, a round wheel with 124 straight cuts, I guess I would need a special cutter that is the same as the tooth profile? However, my understanding is that I can cut this profile with a normal end mill? If I do not choose the Use Involute Cutter in the Output Manger, the machine start cutting the gear, but then moves the Y and A axis and eventually ends up to the left of the A axis just cutting air.... My setup is as follow,

X+

Y+ <> Y-

&nbsp; A facing the gantry

&nbsp; &nbsp; X-

With this setup, I guess the Axis Parallel to Rotary, the Y needs to be ticked and the Chuck faces Axis box in Output manager need to ticked? Sorry for all the questions, but I need to understand this.
Thanks for the help!
&nbsp;
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Newbie help with 4th axis gear cutting

Post by ArtF »

Hi:

&nbsp; &nbsp; Yes, as you found when you check involute cutter youll get code that cuts with a cutter shaped like a tooth. You may get
&nbsp; &nbsp; more than one pass per tooth depending on the perpass depth till it gets to final pass.
&nbsp; &nbsp;
&nbsp; &nbsp; Now, without the involute cutter checked the system will do tangental shaving using a straight fluted end mill. In order
&nbsp; &nbsp; to tangentallly shave it needs to move laterally during the rotation so the axis must be set up properly.
&nbsp; &nbsp;