4TH AXIS tolerance

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
Brown53
Old Timer

4TH AXIS tolerance

Post by Brown53 »

Is there a way to limit the A axis to 3 decimal places instead of 4. My Haas will only work to .001 in the A axis. Or will I have to change this line line at a time? Would there be any problems Using the code for one tooth and then using it as a subroutine? I am new to gear cutting, so am learning on the fly :)
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: 4TH AXIS tolerance

Post by ArtF »

Hi:

The extra decimal shouldnt affect the haas, doesit trip an error?

There will be a post processor this year, but theres no way to eliminate the 4th digit currently.
Yes, you can use 1 tooth many times.. except on the non circulars of course..

Art
Brown53
Old Timer

Post by Brown53 »

Ya, if I leave the 4th decimal in, it alarms out.
Mooselake
Old Timer

Post by Mooselake »

My regular expressions are rusty, and this is the first time I've ever used powershell (yes, I know...) so there's probably an easier way.  This assumes windows; linux would be a lot easier since you can just use sed.  Better yet, install cygwin and you'll have sed, gawk, and the other goodies.

I copied the g code file in \users\kirk so it would be easy to find.  Alternatively you could do a cd to the appropriate directory.  Start powershell; you'll get a command prompt window.

Type (or copy/paste) the following, replacing puff and puff2 with the appropriate file names.

cat puff.ngc | %{$_ -replace "(\.[0-9][0-9][0-9])([0-9])","`$1"} > puff2.ngc

It replaces all 4 decimal place numbers with the first 3 places, or at least it did in my test file.  No rounding, just cuts off the last digit.  There's probably an easy way to make it into a batch file, but I didn't dig that deep.

No warranty, no guarantee, etc.

Kirk
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by ArtF »

Kirk: