Trying to setup Auggie on cnc machine

Discussions and file drops for Auggie
Cyrille
Old Timer

Trying to setup Auggie on cnc machine

Post by Cyrille »

Hello,

I am new to the cnc world, and to Auggie.
I have a cnc machine that I am trying to convert to pokeys57cnc/Auggie... But I am kind of lost :)

First, I wanted to know, how do I configure the Auggie screen? The base screen has a LOT of things that I do not want/need, but also is missing the spindle control. I tried opening the .screen file, assuming that it would be some type of scropt, but althrough there is some text there, it seems to be mostly binary. How does one go aroud customizing/creating a home screen?

Cyrille
Cyrille
Old Timer

Re: Trying to setup Auggie on cnc machine

Post by Cyrille »

hello,

I have found the screen editing function, so i am working through that!

Any tips/tricks?

Cyrille
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by ArtF »

Hi Cyrille:

Make sure you watch the videos. They explain a lot. But , basically, here is how it works.

First, there are screens and panels. Screens can have controls and/or panels on them. Several panel types
are stored and you can create as many as you like. I suggest you start the edit on the screen, see how
many panels are there. Now just open one of the panels, it will fill your screen and you can see how
its made up of simple controls. Controls can have Variable names or scripts attached to them. I dont
recommend scripts, I reocmmend instead you simple give a unique variable name to any controls you
put on a panel. For example if youd like a spindle panel to replace my laser panel, Create a spindle panel
on the screen and add what controls you figure you need. Give them variable names, with decorations
to show their your panel. Names like  SpindlePanelSpeed and SpindlePanelOverride for DRO's for example.

Replace the laser panel with the new panel on your screen and then all thats needed is scripts in the