Does SCALE matter?

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
A Guy In Town
Old Timer

Does SCALE matter?

Post by A Guy In Town »

Hi from Kentucky!

I have a project I have been pondering for several years now.  I have a HUGE workshop building.  I want to (eventually) wrap the entire building with a connected mechanism of gears, chains, levers, and any manner of mechanical devices that will withstand the weather and provide "eye candy" to customers who stop by my home hobby shop. 

The building is 32x60, and 20 feet tall, so the gears and such must be LARGE in order to prevent the project from becoming a billion gear contraption.

If I design the various components using Gearotic (and other programs ?) does SCALE matter at all with respect to functionality?  I realize that the WEIGHT of the larger gears is a factor, and they must be made as light as possible while still maintaining structural integrity.  For example, offset elliptical gears cannot weight a lot due to the leverage issues.

I would be using CNC plasma and router tables, and I am looking at a laser table too, but that is a $174,000.00 "toy" that may need to wait a little while.  (It is calling my name!) ::)

The mechanism would be driven by one or more electric motors, perhaps with some assist motors here and there to overcome pure resistance of SIZE.  The entire mechanism would just be a collection of connected moving parts that make the building's exterior come alive when running.  I may incorporate a large clock and some other things as the imagination wanders.  Parts would be added to existing gears, etc. as the design morphs.