Adding an indicator hand to an hour wheel issue

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
mphil
Old Timer

Adding an indicator hand to an hour wheel issue

Post by mphil »

Hi All
I'm very new to Gerotic but loving it and the potential it has to enable me to make my clocks.
I have a question regarding adding indicators/hands to an hour wheel whilst its in the same position as in the minute shaft (IE. on an hour pipe and the min hand on the centre shaft). As much as I try I am unable to add an hour hand to the hour wheel. I include the file for reference.
thanks in advance. ;D
Attachments

[The extension has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Adding an indicator hand to an hour wheel issue

Post by ArtF »

Hi:

OK, when it comes to indicators, they can be a bit hard to manage as the automatic links
make them work a bit strange. So, lets say you have an indicator on the screen on the proper
shaft position so it looks right. Find the gear which, when selected in the tree shows that indicator
in the box labeled "This gear links to ..."

Select the indicator  in that box and press the "Remove linkage" button.
Now  find on the screen a gear which revolves once per period your interested in. If , for example,
you wish to simulate an hour hand, select the once per 12 hour gear.  With that gear selected,
press the button "Add Linkage". If the indicator was removed from linkages, it will now show up as an
option. Select it and it will now rotate in sync with that gear..

Art
mphil
Old Timer

Post by mphil »

;D ;D ;D Thanks Art. Pheeeew!! I can now see it's all in the linkages. It took me a while to get my head around this and I broke some links in the process but this just made me understand a little bit more. The min indicator can quite easily go on the the said shaft and it's just a case of linking up the hour indicator to the hour wheel.