GearHeads Corner
September 20, 2020, 08:20:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Let's get some conventional gear talk going . . .  (Read 8530 times)
Archie

View Profile
« on: May 24, 2011, 08:57:42 PM »

Hi to the conventio nal gear-cutting folks.

While I am have an interest in the software side of gears, I have some limited experienc e in hobbing (Barber-Colman), form-cutting, and am now getting started in gear shaping (Fellows). I have a special interest in John S's electroni c hobber. I have a current need to make a pair of 25-tooth, 5 DP, 5" PD miter gears for a 99-year old Lucas horizonta l boring mill, plus a custom 30-tooth helical gear to drive the universal milling head on my Kearney-Trecker universal mill. Machine tools are my "thing".

Anyway, I am a retired teacher with a lot of time, so let's discuss gears.

Archie

Archie
Chuck

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 09:11:19 AM »

Archie,

What model Kearney-Trecker do you have?

I rebuilt a 1942 model 2HL with a universal attachmen t and made 2-two gear cluster gears that had been stolen from the main drive.  My machine had been used for parts to keep a second running.  I was able to make or repair everythin g that was missing.

Here is a photo of the mill making it's own gears. This is one of the 2 high speed range spindle drive gears using my one tooth hobbing process.  I had made a single low speed range gear to get it working  while I was in high school.   I posted an updated hobbing program on this forum in "3rd party software".

If you want you may contact me off list at hoelzen@wyoming.com I may be able to be of some help.

Chuck in Wyoming

* TH_compoundspur.JPG (36.08 KB, 605x480 - viewed 735 times.)
Archie

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2011, 09:47:17 AM »

Chuck,

The main thing I could use is more time . . .